Situated alongside the river Thames on the Thames Path, the site was once a great shipyard before it became a timber wharf. The area was then converted to a Receiving Station for the River Ambulance by the Metropolitan Asylums Board. Most of the stations patients had smallpox or fever and went on to be transported downriver to isolation hospitals. During World War II the site was also being used as a Fire Service River Station. In the 1980s an enterprising gardener whom had been using the nearby Greenland Dock to graze her goats and grow vegetables was granted permission to use the land around the old Surrey Docks to make productive use of the sites waste. Over time and with the help of local volunteers she converted the Docks in to an urban farm complete with cows, pigs and bees. The Surrey Docks Farm aims to preserve the rich history of the site and educate visitors on both farm life and the farms previous life. In 2013/14 the Farm was awarded money from the Heritage Lottery Fund which they put towards creating a history trail of the site. In 2016 the Farm received another grant to research the sites history between 1883 – 1940 when it was a Receiving Station. The Farm is open seven days a week to the public.
Help us crowdsource images for this point of interest. Contribute below.
See it on these walks
We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one