The Falkland Islands Radio Service was moved from its earlier location on Ross Road to its present headquarters on John Street in 1955. It is an independent radio broadcaster, operational 76 hours a week, covering local news, phone-ins and music. It is often referred to as FIRS. Rediffusion started broadcasting in Stanley in 1929 under the direction of Sir Arnold Hodson (1881-1944), Governor from 1926 to 1930. This was Sir Arnold’s most notable achievement – connecting the Islands to the imperial broadcasting network and establishing a radio station in the islands. In those days it was known as ‘the box’, with loudspeakers in peoples’ homes, connected by overhead wires linked to an amplifier in Ross Road. It was also carried to some outlying farms via telephone lines giving some people their first ever experience of the radio. The Governor sometimes did some announcing himself and often conducted a local radio programme. Wireless broadcasting was introduced in 1942 and in 1954 a 5kw mediumwave transmitter was installed. In 1977 a full-time Broadcasting Officer ran the station – Patrick Watts until he retired in 1999.
The Rediffusion service was of particular importance during the curfews and blackouts of the 1982 invasion. In August 2005 management of the station was taken over by the Media Trust.
See it on these walks
A medal was purchased for this point by: Falklands Island Government